CHANEL’s support of the Academy Gold Fellowship for Women


LOS ANGELES, CA The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, in partnership with CHANEL, hosted the Academy Womens Luncheon in Los Angeles today (November 16), bringing together women from across the filmmaking community to celebrate the fifth anniversary of the Academy Gold Fellowship for Women, the Academys program to support emerging women filmmakers.

CHANELs support of the Academy Gold Fellowship for Women reflects the Houses deep commitment to the art of film and dedication to nurturing the next generation of women filmmakers. Since its inception, the House of CHANEL has been intrinsically linked to the world of film. House founder and visionary Gabrielle Chanel worked with the leading filmmakers of her time, drawing inspiration from and supporting her fellow creative peers. Her legacy of fostering creativity lives on through CHANELs dedication to film, which is expressed through programs such as the Academy Gold Fellowship for Women and the brands other long-standing film partnerships.

The luncheon at the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures was attended by women from all facets of the film industry, including Zar Amir-Ebrahimi, Lucy Boynton, Janicza Bravo, Ruth Carter, Chinoye Chukwu, Kerry Condon, Claire Foy, Dede Gardner, Hildur Gunadttir, Nina Hoss, Nikyatu Jusu, Ximena Lamadrid, Sanaa Lathan, Leslie Mann, Alana Mayo, Euzhan Palcy, Gina Prince-Bythewood, Maria Schrader, Tessa Thompson, Diane Warren, Rita Wilson and Chloe Zhao. The afternoon featured opening remarks by Academy President Janet Yang, followed by actor Marlee Matlin, who introduced this years two Academy Gold Fellowship for Women recipients, Karishma Dube and Oleksandra Kostina. Actor and human rights advocate Nazanin Boniadi delivered a keynote presentation.

24Fashion TV 221116B 038 1670728889 jpg

Academy President Janet Yang, Tessa Thompson, Nazanin Boniadi and Academy Museum Director and President , Jacqueline Stewart at the Academy Womens Luncheon Presented by CHANEL hosted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

24Fashion TV 221116B 034 1670728541 jpg

Rita Wilson, Marlee Matlin and Lynette Howell Taylor at the Academy Womens Luncheon Presented by CHANEL hosted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Dube, the fellowships domestic recipient, was born and raised in New Delhi and is now based in New York. She is an alumna of the graduate film program at New York University, and her film Bittu won a Student Academy Award in 2020. Kostina, the fellowships international recipient, received a masters degree in economics from the Kyiv National Economic University in 2008. Her debut project as a producer is the feature film Pamfir, a Ukraine-France-Poland-Chile-Luxembourg-Germany co-production that premiered in the Directors Fortnight at Cannes this year.

Part of the Academy Gold global talent development and inclusion initiative, the Fellowship for Women is a one-year program that combines direct support, personalized mentorship and access to once-in-a-lifetime networking opportunities for emerging women filmmakers to further their pursuits in the field. The Academy currently awards two fellowships annually, one in the U.S. with a prize of $35,000 and one internationally for 20,000.

reality tv
fashion tv free
Exorcist website
new sci fi book
Edison Aerospace